Chocolate soufflé

DSC05843 copy.jpg

I think that this is the first proper dish I made (which wasn’t a sandwich or scrambled eggs!). I was about 12 years old at the time and my parents were big fans of “Reader’s Digest” books. I found a recipe for this delicious dessert in one of the cookery books and that was it! I haven’t made a chocolate soufflé since my first attempt so it was about time I treated my friends to my childhood pudding.

Ingredients (serves 5)

2 tsp butter

30g crushed amaretti biscuits

240ml skimmed milk

½ tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp cornflour

55g crushed walnuts or hazelnuts

100g good quality dark chocolate

2 egg yolks

4 egg whites

80g icing sugar

salt

image2-2.JPG

Method

1.Preheat the oven to 180°C.

2.Butter 5 ramekins and sprinkle the bottom with the crushed amaretti biscuits.

3.In a large saucepan combine milk and vanilla. Bring to boil and remove from the heat.

4.In a large bowl combine cornflour and crushed nuts. Add one spoon of hot milk at a time and stir until you have a smooth mixture. Bring the milk and cornflour back to a simmer – stir constantly.

5.Once the mixture is thick, remove from the heat and add chopped chocolate. Stir until melted and well incorporated. Add the egg yolks one at a time to chocolate base and whisk.

6.In a large bowl whisk the egg whites and a pinch of salt with a hand mixer until stiff glossy peaks begin to form, then whisk in the sugar one spoon at a time.

7.Gently fold the egg white meringue into the chocolate base.

8.Fill the ramekins to the top with the mixture and place in the oven for 15 – 17 minutes.

9.Serve with fruit or ice cream.

image1-5.JPG

Leave a comment